Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life

NaNoWriMo 2014

November is fast approaching, which means, so is National Novel Writing Month.  So, instead of trying to grow in facial hair (bearded ladies are just so last century) or cooking an entire turkey dinner singlehandedly (I’ll leave that to the more accomplished chefs in my family), I’m going to try my hand at writing a book, preferably a novel, in thirty days.

At least, I’m going to try to try, G-d-willing and schedule permitting.

Since I’m still young enough to participate in NaNoWriMo’s Young Writers Program, I’ll probably do my novelling there.  The perks of being in the YWP include a customizable word goal as opposed to the traditional 50K words.  Since there’s no way I’ll be able to do 50K this year, I’m taking advantage of that privilege.  (And when I outgrow the YWP, I’ll most likely stick to the summer program and gradually work my way up to larger word goals until I’m more confident in my writing-a-ton-under-pressure abilities.)

So, what am I going to write about?  Er…..  That’s really quite up in the air.  Last year, I’d been planning ahead for months, and now, here I am  *glances at calendar to verify and freaks out* less than a week before the event starts, unsure of what exactly I’m going to write! :O

Well, I have two viable solutions that I can think of.  (Well, if you count “Not doing NaNoWriMo at all this year,” it would be three.)  1) Co-write a story I’ve been brainstorming about with my friend, or 2) work on a story I’ve been thinking about for some time.  We’ll see what happens.

To everyone who’s definitely participating in NaNoWriMo this year, be it the YWP or the grown-up version with 50K words, best of luck to you all! 🙂

Author:

I'm an artist of multiple mediums, from creative writing to cosplay.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014

    1. Thanks! 🙂 So far, I’m having a bit of trouble staying on track. I found Camp NaNoWriMo in the summer to be a bit easier for my schedule, but I’m going to try harder. Besides, the prizes for the traditional November festivities are pretty neat! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

