Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life

NaNoWriMo’14 Day 4

I’ll start off by saying I’ve been very mutinous.  I have considered quitting NaNoWriMo 2014 as of Day 2.  Sacrilege, right?  But don’t worry, I’m still here.

Well, I decided on writing that story I mentioned in my previous post on NaNoWriMo, the one that’s really quite underdeveloped.  On a good year, I’ll have planned out the entire project months in advance.  This year, November kind of poofed in like Nightcrawler from X-Men, when I least expected it, and I’d been dealing with some stressful things towards the end of October.  The end result?  Near disaster.

So no, words I’ve been writing every day since the evening of November 1 (goes to show how great a start I got off to) are far less coherent than what I usually write.  It’s stilted and weird; it’s probably the roughest rough draft I’ve ever written, because I’m outlining in my brain as I go along.  Let’s just say this story’s going to need a lot of sandpaper before it’s publishable.

And no, I don’t have the patience to do the 15K words I’d originally hoped for.  I’m going to start with 7K and see if I can handle more this time around.  I feel like such a loser, but a loser who is in touch with her reality (and my procrastinatious tendencies).

I think I really thrived in Camp NaNoWriMo this past summer.  As I get older, I’m going to get busier too.  Unless I come up with a reason to panic next summer, I think that in future years, Camp NaNoWriMo will probably be my preferred venue for challenging myself to write a book in 30 days.  Sorry, purists.

Well, enough with that depressing diatribe.

What are you listening to get you in a good writing mood?  For me, it’s my collection of oldies music, with a little help from the radio.  Once I get into the more emotional scenes, if there will be any in this work, I’ll probably turn to the amazing Incomptech.

Author:

I'm an artist of multiple mediums, from creative writing to cosplay.

Leave a Reply

