Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life

NaNoWriMo’14 Day 5

The best thing that could happen to this poor NaNoWriter happened to me this morning: I had an idea for a new story, a better story than the one I’ve been plugging away at, doing 200 words tops a day, for NaNoWriMo.  So I whipped out my mobile device and began tapping away like a writer obsessed.

In about an hour and a half, I’d put 1,500 words down on virtual paper (and, amazingly, my thumbs were still intact).  I’d just barely gotten past 1,500 words on the previous NaNo writing project over the course of five days, yet here I was, 1,500 words in less than a day!  So, out with that old, icky NaNo story I was trying to write and in with this new one!

My new project is called The Misadventures of Arthur and His Merry Company of Reincarnated Arthurians.  It’s very loosely based on BBC’s Merlin and Arthurian legend, which, truthfully, I know very little about.

So if that’s the case, why the heck am I writing this thing?  Well, it’s because I’m inspired.  I don’t care what I write right now (yes, my inner critic is supposed to be in exile for the rest of the month); what matters is that I write something.

Leave a Reply

