Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life

NaNoWriMo Day 7 – A Peek into What I’ve Been Writing

It’s November 7th, which means we’re seven days into NaNoWriMo’s festivities.  I’m now having such a good time, and I’ve been writing literally “like the Dickens,” in the sense that it’s been exceptionally wordy. 😀

Here’s a small peek at what I wrote today:

 “Welcome, boys,” the principal intoned in a gravelly voice that sounded distinctly like that British actor who played the War Doctor in Doctor Who. “Thank you for coming when I summoned you.”

What was really weird was that he had wings, a barbed tail, and his body was covered with reptilian scales.

That was probably because, believe it or not, Principal Drago was a reptile.  A dragon to be exact.

To paraphrase Duck Theory, if it looks like a dragon, furnishes its domicile like a dragon, and talks like John Hurt, then it probably is a dragon.

“Y-y-you’re a d-d-dragon,” Merlin stammered observantly.

The dragon smiled, revealing two rows of sharp, pointy teeth.  “Yes, I am.  I suppose you now know why I rarely appear in public.  Instead, you have to suffer with my rather incompetent staff members.  What a mistake I made hiring Travis White….  I thought he had so much potential, but … well, I’d dispose of them all, except that I adhere to a strictly vegetarian diet.”

Leave a Reply

