Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, Reviews

Product Review: EnJoy Movies Your Way

**DISCLAIMER: I was not asked to review the following product, nor am I being paid for this review.  The following review contains my unbiased opinions of the services of EnJoy Movies Your Way, written entirely by my own choice.  I’m also not a technology expert (“Darn it, Jim, I’m a writer, not an engineer!”) so if anything I’ve written below is technologically inaccurate, please forgive me and feel free to let me know where I’ve gone wrong in a (polite) comment.**

Last night was family movie night at my house.  Since we rarely watch television, we all gathered ’round the “big” screen of our desktop computer and popped in a DVD movie I have been dying to see: X2: X-Men United.

Warning bells are probably going off in your head now, right?  How could Allison the self-proclaimed prude, in her right mind, choose to watch a movie that’s been rated PG-13 for, among other things, sexuality and vulgar language?  Could this be a … hypocrisy?

Well, I am proud to say that I did indeed see that movie and loved it, and it’s all thanks to an amazing piece of technology called enJoy Movies Your Way.

Created by a wonderful lady and mother of five named Mrs. Traci Dysart, enJoy is a special DVD player (it’s software, not hardware) that runs on your computer (like Windows Media Player or Real Player, only way cooler).  It enables families with conservative values to enjoy movies they’d otherwise have to forgo because of offensive content.  Best of all, the enJoy software is completely free.

When you play your DVDs with enJoy,  it filters out offensive content by skipping or muting it based on preprogrammed information.  You can make these filters yourself using the enJoy software, but you can also download pre-made movie filters for a wide variety of popular titles from enJoy’s website.  Available titles include Titanic, Les Miserables, The Great Gatsby, The Amazing Spider-Man, Brave, The Help, Pitch Perfect, Skyfall, and Lincoln.  Many of these filters were created by Mrs. Dysart herself, but there are several filters available on the site that were contributed by members of the enJoy user community.  (Crowd-sourcing rules!)

Every household has different standards for what is appropriate content for their home.  The EnJoy software lets users create custom viewing profiles based on content intensity/tolerance levels for each family member’s sensitivities, which determines how much inappropriate content gets filtered out of your movie based on how intense it is.  For example, if your seven year old doesn’t handle onscreen violence well, so you can set her profile to have “low” tolerance for violent scenes, and for sure, you won’t want her repeating curse words or calling other children names, so you’d also set her tolerance level for language to be none, whatsoever.  Her older brother, however, might be less sensitive to violence, so for his profile, you might set his profile to allow “mild” violent scenes, tops.  I created a custom profile called “Family,” accommodating the sensitivities of all of my family members, for when we all watch something together.

When I watched X2 using the enJoy player, I was able to enjoy the gripping storyline and action sequences inherent in a Marvel superhero movie without having to endure the strong language and gratuitous sexual content that IMDB warned me about.  (One of these questionable scenes was only slightly plot-relevant to how the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants broke their leader out of prison, but aside from some momentary confusion, we didn’t feel like we missed anything.)  I only wish there was a way to crop out sections of the screen in scenes where a particular under-dressed character was just standing there.  Otherwise, I was confident that my family was not being exposed to anything they shouldn’t while watching this movie filtered with enJoy.

Overall, my experiences using enJoy so far are incredibly positive.  Mrs. Dysart has been so helpful in guiding me through setting the software up for our family computer, and I’ve learned a lot from her about how her amazing software works.  I’m overjoyed that I’ll finally be able to see all these awesome movies without compromising my morals.

For more information about how to bring enJoy into your home, please visit enjoymoviesyourway.com.  I hope you’ll give this beautiful contribution to modern technology a try, and that you’ll enjoy it as much as I am!

Here are my thoughts on enJoy in short form:

Pros:

  • Easy to navigate user interface
  • Filter settings are customizable for the unique sensitivities different family members
  • Website has nice library of downloadable, pre-made movie filters
  • Ability to create “profiles” of content tolerance levels for each family member’s sensitivities.
  • You can make your own filters too for movies they don’t yet have, and share them with the EnJoy community for others to benefit from and  enjoy.
  • IT’S ALL FREE, FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!!  Even if you don’t end up using enJoy much, it’s not going to cost you anything except disk space to have it on your computer!

Cons:

  • Doesn’t work with Windows XP or Windows 8 operating systems, only Windows Vista and Windows 7
  • (very, very minor) Works only for DVDs thus far, not digital/streaming videos

 

P.S. Mrs. Dysart let me know that she doesn’t intend to produce any more filters herself for the enJoy site, but would love if anyone would help out by contributing their own filters.  Here are some titles I’d love to see added to enJoy’s library of filters:

  • X-Men: Days of Futures Past
  • The Matrix
  • Braveheart
  • The Back to the Future Trilogy
  • Iron Man 3
  • The original Spiderman trilogy, starring Toby Maguire, Kirsten Dunst, and James Franco
  • Superman Returns
  • Enchanted
  • Captain America 2
  • Witness
  • Stargate
  • HELP!
  • When it comes out: Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens (after what J.J. Abrams did with Star Trek, I’m not taking going to take my chances with this movie)

I have not seen most of these movies before, and wouldn’t feel comfortable watching them now unless they’ve been thoroughly filtered of inappropriate content.  My main reason for getting enJoy was so that I wouldn’t have to expose myself and my family to any more smut in movies.  I am only asking people who’ve seen these movies before and are personally comfortable watching them again: please help me and the rest of the enJoy community by contributing data towards filters for these movies and more!

Author:

I'm an artist of multiple mediums, from creative writing to cosplay.

Leave a Reply

