Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, Q&A, The Writing Life

Q&A Session #1

You guys asked some awesome questions – I hope you’ll find my answers just as awesome! šŸ™‚

My Writing Routine

Ms. Evelyn Krieger said she would like to know about my writing routine.Ā  (Pardon me while I stop hyperventilating about being asked a question by a real, live, published author!!!!)

My routine starts off with a few minutes (or on some days, a few hours) of daydreaming to prepare my mind for the task.Ā  I let my ideas formulate over the course of the day, and then, once all my chores are out of the way, I find a quiet place to set up the tools of my trade (either my laptop or my trusty mobile device, headphones, and my favorite music), and let the words flow like endless rain into a paper cup.

I’ve also adopted a new strategy to motivate myself on days when words tend to flow like … a parched desert wasteland: tell myself I’ll only write for 15 minutes.Ā  I usually end up writing for an hour.

And as a given, my routine only works when I’ve had a good night’s sleep the night before! šŸ˜€

How many books did you work on before you published Secrets in Seaport?

This one came from Lars. šŸ™‚Ā  If I lump all thirteen drafts of a horrible fanfiction together as being one book (which the public will never, ever, ever, ever, ever read), I’d say I finished writing three books prior to publishing SIS.Ā  (I promise the other two were original stories!)Ā  There were definitely countless other book projects I started writing before then, but have yet to finish.

Let’s face it, authors’ brains are bursting at the seams with ideas.  The hard part is finding an optimal way to apply them.

Fanfic vs. Original Fiction

Lars also asks how often I write fanfiction over original projects.   Great question! šŸ™‚

Fanfictions are much easier to write than original fiction for so many reasons.  For starters, I already have a full cast of characters to portray, and plenty of settings to put them in, thanks to the creative thinking of other people. šŸ˜›  I particularly enjoy writing fanfictions where absurd things happen, such as putting characters in atypical situations (let’s put the White Orc on a luxury cruise to the Bahamas, Princess Leia in a babysitting job, or Earth’s favorite time lord dancing ballet).

Last-last year, I was churning out Doctor Who fanfics like all of time and space was going to end tomorrow.  The fanfic to original fiction ratio of 2013 was about 60:40.  A little embarrassing now, but at least my fanfictions were of the Whovian variety, not Tom Hiddleston or One Direction!

Lately, though, I have been curbing my enthusiasm for fanfic-writing (or, as William Shatner might call it, getting a life) and sticking mostly to the real stuff.  Currently, I’m working on one big fanfiction, and I have four original projects I’ve been tinkering with.  The ratio is more like 45:55 now, and I’m happy with that. šŸ™‚

Author:

I'm an artist of multiple mediums, from creative writing to cosplay.

2 thoughts on “Q&A Session #1

  1. Your motivation strategy sounds like a great idea, I may have to try it… šŸ™‚
    Also, based on you answer to my first question, have you ever thought about going back to those two originals and working on them again with a view to possible publication?
    In ref to the fanfic, I’d say that even if it isn’t your original, it couldn’t help but be good practice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

