Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life, Uncategorized

Outlining Rocks

To be honest, I hated writing outlines for school.  They never really taught how to – either that, or I wasn’t paying much attention when they did.  All of a sudden, they wanted us to make them.  Since I didn’t know how, I typically wrote the essay first, in secret, and when I was satisfied with it, I wrote an outline based on it.  Most of my English teachers fell for it, and had mostly good things to say about the final (rather, initial) product. 😛

Likewise, with my book projects, I used to write blindly, making things up as I went along.  That worked pretty well, but because I didn’t outline or keep notes, I got stuck a lot.  To go forward, a lot of plot changes would need to be made, but then I’d be scrapping thousands of words that took me ages to write.  What worked with my essays was starting to fail with my “books”.  After all, revising an essay that’s a few thousand words, at most, is no big deal in comparison to revising 15k words.

Eventually, I had to figure out how to outline the hard way.  And boy, am I glad I did!

Before I make a formal, outline-y, bulleted list, I start out with a “story treatment,” like they do in showbiz.  Basically, I write out a summary of how I want the plot to be.

Outlining the entire story, concisely, chapter by chapter, plot point by plot point, helps me to map everything out in an incredibly flexible way.  By keeping everything on the outline level, I can simply arrange, rearrange, modify, and delete items on a bulleted list.

I’ll often go back and look at my “story treatment,” to remind myself of everything that needs to happen at a given point for the story to go forward.  Yes, I still have some “uh, what happens next?” moments, but I’m not getting as frustrated.  There’s still plenty of time and space for making improvements.

5 thoughts on “Outlining Rocks

  1. I did the same thing with school assignments! lol! I’ve started at least writing down a ton of information on basic plot points – a “what I know so far”. Sometimes scenes if I have those already with little notes saying approximately where I want it in the story. If not, it’s pretty fun to try and figure out what the heck that scene is even for. haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Going through the same thing with my books now. 🙂 Never had trouble outlining for school though, which doesn’t explain how I didn’t try it for my books before . . . huh. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel you! I used to just write as I was going… not planning a single thing and seeing where the story takes me. But now that I’m more serious about writing, I know it helps to have a plan. I mean, yes, I can throw in random subplots here and there and outlining is just that – /outlining/ so you still have room to breathe and be creative. But it also helps to have so many concrete things too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

