Posted in Behind the Scenes, Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life, Uncategorized

What I’m Working On Right Now

1) Unnamed Teenage Hacker Story – This is my working title for a probably YA story about a girl with extreme hacking skills.  She’s a bit of an introvert, and spends most of her day in the attic of her wealthy parents’ huge estate … dressed in yesterday’s pajamas and offering questionable technical help for hire to anonymous online clients.  She has to become an amateur sleuth when she discovers that bigger, better, and genuinely malicious hackers have cleaned out the online bank of which her father is the CEO.  I’m not quite sure where this story is headed, but I’m having a lot of fun working with this morally ambiguous antihero.

Inspiration hit, so I sat down and wrote several pages of disjointed plot.  If I know what’s good for me, I really ought to take a step back and outline this story before I go any further. 😛

2) The Elementals – This is one of those stories I thought of over a boring afternoon.  I’ve jotted down a basic story treatment, involving four super-cool teenage girls with elemental powers, called the Elementals (or Elementalists?).  Think Avatar‘s element-benders, with a hint of Power Puff Girls.  My intended audience is probably the same demographic as readers of The Babysitters Club.  For starters, there will be unrealistically hip and mature twelve- and thirteen-year-olds, and social drama. 😀

Right now, I’m trying to organize these ideas into a decent outline – if my schedule (and attention span) permits, I’ll try to turn that outline into a book.  Let’s see what happens!

 

As for Seaport 2.0, part of me really wants to fix this story from the perspective of these older, (hopefully) more mature eyes after all the work I did inflicting it on the world 2 years ago.  Writers like me tend to suffer from the Sandpaper Curse.  Maybe I ought to just take this story for what it is, and let it be.  So yeah.  Maybe I’ll get around to writing a new version someday, resplendent with ghosts from the past and real secrets.  Right now, I’m just not feeling it.

Leave a Reply

