Hazel West’s ‘An Earthly King’ Virtual Blog Tour

I’m participating in Hazel West’s Virtual Book Tour for her new novel, An Earthly King.  The second book in Hazel’s YA Irish urban fantasy series, An Earthly King is now available for purchase via Amazon, CreateSpace, and Smashwords.

Synopsis

earthlykingcoverpic2-copy Six months after Ciran defeated King Lorcan and instigated a peace treaty between the High Court of Ireland and the Goblin realm, things have been slowly getting back to normal in the kingdoms. That is, until the council decides that it’s time for High King Eamon to find a queen.

On top of that, there seem to be stirrings of rebellion in the Faelands, as not all the Fair Folk like the High Court’s treaty with the Goblins. So it’s up to Ciran Mac Cool and his company to stop the rebellion before it goes too far, while also trying to keep Eamon safe from potential assassins. And with all the prospective brides rubbing elbows with the High King, that’s easier said than done.

With the help of their friends and a spunky agent from the Bureau of Protection Against Fair Folk, Ciran’s Company attempts to stop the Faery plots before Ireland is thrown into all out war. Again.

An Earthly King is another action packed book in this Celtic urban fantasy series with lots of friendship, humor, angst, and even traces of the Ballad of Tam Lin.

About the Author

Hazel West lives in Purgatory, er, Florida, with her books and her hedgehog Horatio. When she’s not writing, she’s reading other people’s books, studying folklore, or binge-watching something on Netflix—drinking coffee is also a given.

Hazel’s Links:

 

Here’s an excerpt from the book, which I think sounds quite suspenseful:

I looked up at the voice and saw a Faerie standing in front of me. Upon first impressions he wasn’t very impressive. In fact, he was rather short and plain-looking for a Faerie, but upon further consideration, I realized he held a certain commanding presence that was definite in the way the guards immediately stood to attention when he looked at them. He was dressed in brown and gold robes with a copper breastplate and bracers. On his head, over his short, dark brown hair, he wore a circlet of twisted vines with a lump of amber set at the fore.

“Who are you?” I demanded, before my guard smacked me across the back of my already aching head. I grunted.

“You will learn your manners and not speak to Prince Oberon like that,” the Faerie growled.

Oberon. That name. It took a moment for my concussed head to sort through memories, but I finally remembered the dream Daegal had told me about, asking if I had ever heard of an Oberon. No one had known who he was. I swallowed hard, even more curious now than I had been before.

Oberon turned his gaze from Aeden and me to his guards. “You may go. I wish to speak to them privately.” His voice was low and slightly raspy, having a somewhat mesmerizing quality.

“Are you sure that’s wise, your majesty?” one inquired.

Oberon gave them a longsuffering look. “I think I can handle a little polite conversation. Now go.”

They left without hesitation and the door closed behind them. Aeden and I shared a glance before looking back at the professed Prince Oberon.

“So, I wondered how long it would be before Na Fianna came knocking at my door,” Oberon said as he reached behind him and drew out a long, thin, Faerie blade. “Well, not really knocking I suppose, but that’s all neither here not there anymore.”

I tried to keep my composure, my breath catching in my throat, as Oberon advanced with the lethal looking knife, nearly as long as his forearm.

“No!” Aeden cried as the Faerie prince came toward me. I struggled in my bonds, trying to ignore the horror in my brother’s eyes. I squeezed mine shut, waiting for the pain, the knife slicing through my skin.

If you like what you’ve just read, you can also enter to win a free copy of An Earthly King and its prequel, Blood Ties, by clicking here. 🙂

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

