Posted in Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life, Uncategorized

Autumn Writerly Update #2 – After the Fall + Text-Based Adventure Game

After the Fall

Well, there’s no way I’m finishing my novel before the year ends.  Novels, I’m finding, take a lot of time – and so does finding the right way to phrase all the information I’m trying to convey within it. 😛

There are three parts to my story, in all.  The beginning narrative (which sets up the main cast of characters), the interludes from another character’s POV, and the “falling action” narrative following discoveries made based on information in the interludes, which will ease into what I hope is a bittersweet ending.  At this point, I’m just about done with the first part.  I’ve started working on the interludes, which will be interspersed throughout the main narrative.

My story is told primarily from the perspective of Molly, a twelve year old girl in the 1980s.  However, portions of the story are told from the perspective of a girl who grew up in the 1960s alas she doesn’t meet the Beatles, whose diary Molly happens upon and reads through as the story progresses.  Their respective storylines, seemingly unrelated, are subtly intertwined (well, I’m trying to be subtle about it anyway).

In that respect, I feel like my novel’s a bit like The Many Lives of John Stone by Linda Buckley Archer, which I reviewed earlier this year.  One thing I’m trying to do is make sure that the events of Beth’s diary correlate to events in Molly’s chronologically subsequent narrative.  As I noted in my review of John Stone, I was concerned that readers were frequently given the answers to mysteries the protagonist was trying to solve, occasionally long before she even has questions.  So I’ll admit I am a feeling little frustrated – it’s a bit like trying to get two seemingly different sets of puzzle pieces to fit together.

But I shall forge on.

 

Text-Based Adventure Game

For the past few months, I’ve been working on a text-based adventure game, though it’s not the one I was talking about in my Autumn Writing Plans post.

In September, I discovered an amazing open-source program called Twine, for programming text-based adventure games.  If you know me in person, I’ve been raving about it for some time.  The user-interface is so simple and straightforward, and the program enables you to literally map out the multiple paths of your game.

dodgetwine

As a fairly concrete thinker and hands-on learner, this visual element makes my life so much easier.

The picture above depicts one of the early chapters of the game.  (And yes, to confirm your suspicions, the game is set in the world of the classic Gunsmoke radio and TV series.  The player arrives in Dodge City, and has the opportunity to explore three locations.  The game follows a linear storyline  – ultimately, you’ll have to visit the third location before the story progresses, but because I’m a nice writer, you have the opportunity to do a little bit of exploring first. 🙂

Why am I writing this story as a game, and not the one I initially planned to?  Officially, because I want to experiment with this beautiful program first.  Unofficially, I just don’t feel like working on that other story right now. 😛

Well, that’s your writerly progress report for today.  Back to you, Diane.

Leave a Reply

