Posted in Poetry, Written Works

Sinking Ships – a poem/song/thingie

Honestly, I’m not sure what to call this piece.  I think it’s a poem, but the words to a chorus popped into my head as I was putting in the finishing touches.  If I had a tune to go with it, I suppose this could be a song.  I don’t know. 😛

 

A late night phone call, beating the time zone at its game

A late night conversation about valuing one’s life

A late night post about what’s on your mind at two AM

A late night mistake you can’t remember by day

I must’ve said something wrong

Done something wrong because

All the ships are sinking now

And I know I’m to blame

 

An early morning browse through the Web

An early morning feeling, everything has changed

An early morning shock kills the whole entire day

An early morning text saying it’s over now

Somebody’s not speaking to me

Somebody must hate me because

All my ships are sinking now

And I know I’m to blame

 

Sinking ships bring me down below the sea

Sinking ships, ships are sinking all because of me

Sinking ships are sunk by simple little words

Ships are sinking, life preservers don’t come free

 

A late night message beating fate at its cruel game

A late night resolution about implementing change

A late night aspiration to sleep long before two AM

A late night apology, hopefully not in vain

3 thoughts on “Sinking Ships – a poem/song/thingie

Leave a Reply

