Posted in Behind the Scenes, Miscelaneous Musings, The Writing Life

Answering Your Writerly Questions!

In honor of my 3rd Bloggiversary, I decided to hold a Q&A session with my wonderful readers.  Here are some of my favorite entries:

What’s your favorite genre to write in?

My favorite genre to write will always be fanfiction.  Not going to lie.  But of the more serious genres (the ones I can write in and publish in without getting sued), my favorite genre to write is currently mystery.  Whether it’s a mystery-adventure, a historical mystery, a contemporary fiction with a mystery subplot, there’s always an element of mystery in the things I write.

Of all the fandoms you’re a part of, which one do you find easiest to write fanfics for? 🙂

I think I know who sent this one in – you know me too well! 😉

For me, the easiest fandom to write fanfictions in is Star Wars.  The franchise has been around for forty years, and there’s just so much information about the Star Wars universe readily available.  Wookieepedia, the official Star Wars wiki, is just a click away, and it has everything from how lightsabers are built to the different slang dialects spoken by characters throughout the galaxy.  When I was part of a SW roleplay on Young Writers Society, I did a lot of research on the types of food and music they had available, and I think this made the setting seem all the more real.

If you could be a character in any book, which book and which character? Why them? 🙂

I think I’m going with Eowyn from The Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien.  In both the book and the movie, I feel like Eowyn is the quintessential “strong female character.”  She’s brave; she goes out and fights for her people and all the free peoples of Middle Earth, disguised as a man, but she’s still distinctly feminine in the way she carries herself.  She’s like this happy medium between all the female lead archetypes I’m coming across in fiction today.  She does a bit of everything without losing her identity, basically.  Okay, the old-English pickup lines she kept using on Aragorn were a bit annoying, but if I became this character, I wouldn’t feel limited by her gender, abilities, personality, etc.

What’s your opinion about Lovecraft?

I’ll be honest, the first time I heard the word “Lovecraft,” I thought it was a type of Harry Potter romance fanfiction.  The author’s initials, H.P., didn’t help matters much.  (In my defense, I was really young when I came to this conclusion!)  I eventually found out more that H.P. Lovecraft was the author of several gothic horror stories, including “The Call of Cthulhu” and my interest is definitely piqued.  I’ve yet to read any of Lovecraft’s stories – nor have I played any of the computer games inspired by them – but one of these days, I’ll pull down a few from Project Gutenberg or Wikimedia Commons.  While I can’t yet give a definitive opinion, Lovecraft writes stories that I think I’d enjoy.

What is the first advice you would give to an aspiring writer?

This is such a great question, but it’s easier asked than answered!  There are literally a million potential answers coursing through my brain right now in no particular order – there’s just so much I know now that I wish I knew when I first started writing….

The first piece of advice I’d give is: plan everything to some extent.  Whether you write a rigid, formal outline or jot down a few ideas on the back of a napkin, it’ll make all the difference when you start writing.  Last month was NaNoWriMo, and there are primarily two schools of thought when setting out to write a 50k-word body of work in thirty days: “planning” and “pantsing.”

“Planning” is, as the name suggests, setting as rigorous a outline for the entire story.  There’s no way you can possibly go wrong or run out of ideas, unless halfway through the process, you decide What the heck?  I’ll stop following this lame outline!  Which brings us to “pantsing.”

“Pantsing” roughly translates to making everything up as you go along.  I tend to lean towards this school of thought, but I usually end up writer’s blocked because halfway through, I run out of ideas and get burned out.  I’ve found simply jotting down some casual notes about how I want the story to begin, climax, and end, as well as some loose character arc ideas is a nice, happy medium between the two extremes.

 

Thank you for taking part, and especially to all my readers, thank you so much for accompanying me this far on my writerly journey.  Here’s to another year of growth and creativity!

Author:

I'm an artist of multiple mediums, from creative writing to cosplay.

3 thoughts on “Answering Your Writerly Questions!

  1. Allison, I tend to agree with you about “pantsing”. It is a tempting way to begin and beginnings are often the easy part. Then we get stuck in the muddy middle. I think that authors who claim to write by “pantsing” aren’t telling the whole truth. (They may not even know it!) Planning happens in the minds during walks and doing the dishes or when trying to fall asleep. Often, they realize the shortcomings of this method and end up throwing away a lot of what they’ve written, or turning to an outline when they hit the sinking middle. I vote for the middle road–a combination of brainstorming, planning key scenes, writing character sketches, taking notes, and then allowing the surprises to unfold.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

