Posted in Uncategorized

January To-Read List

I borrowed a few new kidlit and YA books from the library this month.  I know the limits of my schedule (and the size of my book bag which, alas, is the same size on the inside as it is outside), so I’m going with but a small handful this time around.

1. The Books of Umber: Happenstance Found by P.W. Catanese

From what I can tell, this is the story of an amnesiac kid who wakes up in an unfamiliar world.  I’ve only skimmed the first chapter at this point, but the main characters were introduced early on without completely spilling the beans of their backstories.  The cover looks like a Photoshop wonder, which I’ll admit is why I grabbed it in the first place – the amnesia storyline definitely solidified my interest.

2. The People of Sparks by Jeanette DuPrau

I enjoyed the first book, The City of Ember, very much.  It’s gripping and deep enough that I can enjoy it as an older reader, but it was written simply enough that a kid could read it.  One of my friends, a younger girl, is buddy-reading this series with her parent, which supports my point.  I’m looking forward to reading what happens with Lina and Doon, and I wonder how much time has passed since where Ember left off.  (I also borrowed the next book in this series, but I’ll cross that bridge when I’m done with this book!)

3. Sun and Moon and Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George

My friend H. recommended this book as a “clean” YA novel that doesn’t also fall under the category of theological fiction.  It apparently draws from old Nordic fairy tales, which I’m not familiar with, and the protagonist has an interesting backstory.  If I like this author’s writing, I may try to find more of her books at the library. 🙂

One thought on “January To-Read List

  1. Ooh, you’ll have to tell me how the Jessica Day George book goes! I’ve read the Castle Glower books, (a lot of fun), but I wasn’t sure how her more “adult” books would be. It would be great if they were clean and good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

