Posted in Poetry, Written Works

Why I Stand for You

Standing for you puts me in a box

In which I don’t, won’t ever belong

It suggests I endorse bold, brash stupidity

Eye to eye, you and I rarely ever see

But I stand for you anyway

Because no one else will

 

I stand for you because you’re family

Even though we don’t always agree

You’re my spirited sister, going alone

My wayward brother, off on his own

My love for you is as thick as blood

Blood others tried (and failed) to spill

 

I don’t stand when your goddesses sing

I sit in protest of our misunderstanding

You’ve hurt me greatly

You’ve broken my faith

But I still stand for you

When no one else will

2 thoughts on “Why I Stand for You

  1. True emotions in it. Really touching to see someone can be devoted this way. Nice words, too Simple but adapted. Nude and expressing.
    Is that a personal experience, may I ask?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

