Posted in Uncategorized

The 5 Big Mistakes I Made When Self-Publishing My First Book

You Write Fiction

A lot of people think Where the Woods Grow Wild was my debut novel. It’s actually not, but I’m totally okay treating it as such because my very first self-published novel was a bit (fine, a lot) of a fiasco in its inception. Some of you have read it: Little One, published just about two years ago and republished (with a lot of improvements) a few months later.

I’ve written about this in past posts and random tweets, but I decided to share the five biggest mistakes I made when first self-publishing Little One. Most of them were due to an utter lack of experience, so if you’re building towards your first release, maybe I can save you some trouble.

#1 Not asking for beta readers

News flash: beta readers are amazing. They should be an integral part of your self-pub journey. They’re the first eyes to see…

View original post 737 more words

Author:

I'm an artist of multiple mediums, from creative writing to cosplay.

2 thoughts on “The 5 Big Mistakes I Made When Self-Publishing My First Book

Leave a Reply

