Beta-Reading … What Next?

I still can’t get over how many people jumped at the opportunity to help out by beta-reading my Cliche draft.  It’s seriously overwhelming and but super-delightful.  Just … WOW.

Now that I’ve finished writing the book and the beta-readers have been given their manuscript copies to play with, what’s next?  What’s my plan going forward?

Well, just as Rome wasn’t built in a day, my book won’t be beta-read in one either.  I had a ton of brainstorms for writing the sequel, and I’ve written them all down; I’ve decided it would be foolish to try writing a sequel when things may need to be retconned in the first book before that’s publishable.

It’s good to take a break between writing and editing so that you can look at your work with a fresh perspective. That’s what I’m going to be doing when it comes to Cliche.

Coincidentally, I’ve taken enough of a break from writing After the Fall that I’ve got some new outlooks for how to take that story forward.  That’s the novel-length project I’ve had on my mind for a while, but I hit a stopping point last Autumn.

If all goes well, I’m going to pick that project back up and try to make a little more progress in the next few months.  Good novels can’t be written in a day – or a year – either, especially if you’re me.

I see so much potential in this story, I’m committed to finishing it, even if it takes a while.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

