Treat me like a stripe in your banner

Treat me like a stripe in your banner

I simply don’t fit in society’s life planner

When kids in school played being grown

I found peace and solace all on my own

 

Is this some part of the prudish thing

A short-lived phase that’s come to sting?

My time will come in the traditional way

But that time, make note, is not this day

 

So let me hang onto the tattered rags

That ravel from your gaily colored flag

Until arrives my one, true destiny

I’ll take this semblance of unity

 

I hope you get it, my favorite color

Has temporarily switched to another

So I can enjoy some solitude

This is my choice, I am a prude

Leave a Reply

